Scott Orwell Wheelers Women’s Crit League – Round 2 Report

Last night saw thirty five of the fifty registered riders turn up to Corkagh Park for Round 2 of the Orwell Wheelers Women’s Crit League. The participants were greeted with a biting cold wind and apart from a brave few, there was a general consensus that it was not a day to ditch the leg warmers and get the legs out!

Photo courtesy of Brendan Culleton.


B Race

First off the starting blocks was the B- (B minus) group, who were given a 30 second head start on the remainder of the B’s. Once in motion, a steady pace ensued in both groups with the B’s not catching the B- group for quite some time. A promising junior rider from Scott Orwell – Annie Roche (B-) held her own out front for much of the race. The B-Race Peloton. Photo courtesy of John Hammer.

Agnieszka Samsel from Clontarf CC put in a very strong performance to take the win in style, followed by a speedy Sinead Molloy from Tullamore CC. In 3 rd place there was a closely contested battle between Susan Fagan of Clontarf CC and Julie Egan (Naas CC) – with Susan managing to get the edge by half a wheel length. Rounding off the top 6 in the B/B- group were Irene Yeriskin from Sundrive in 5th place and Megan Davenport (Unattached) in a very respectable 6th place.

B-Race Results. Photo courtesy of Brendan Culleton.


A Race

For the A race, a similar handicap was given to the A- group with the A riders starting 30 seconds behind. The A- (A minus) group got off to a slower start and were very quickly chased down and caught by the A’s who were flat to the mat from the outset.

The women of the A-Race. Photo courtesy of John Hammer.

The bunch stayed together for a few laps before splintering into smaller groups with Catherine McAteer, Katie Earlie, Jennifer Bates and Orla Walsh eventually breaking free from the A- chain gang. The second group of five A- riders worked together to hold the gap at half a lap for the remainder of the race. In the front bunch, there were attacks by Jennifer, and then Katie until the duo eventually broke free and looked like they might stay away. Catherine had other ideas however and launched a chase at the end of the finish hill to reel them in.

The trio stayed away for the remainder of the race with Orla putting in a strong solo stint to stay away from the fast finishing second group of five. A sprint for the line from the leading trio saw Kate Earlie claim first place (St. Tiernan’s CC), closely followed by Catherine McAteer of Garda CC and Jennifer Bates of Clondalkin CC with fourth place going to Orla Walsh of Scott Orwell.

A-Race Results. Photo courtesy of Brendan Culleton.


Wrap Up

Full Results and Current League Standings are available on the Scott Orwell Womens Crit League Rd. 2 Forum Post.

As always, a big thank you to the organising team from all the riders. To Eddie Lynch for the impeccable timing and general race organising. Yvonne Doran for being an excellent Director General of the league to date.

Photo Albums

Finish Line Videos