McCrystal Wins at Red Hand Trophy

June 2, 2019 – Irish international Eve McCrystal soloed to an impressive win at round three of the Cycling Ireland National Road Series in Ballymena on Saturday.

The finish of the Women’s Elite event saw Eve McCrystal going long from about 25km out to score her first win of the domestic season, donning the Irish National Road Racing Champion’s jersey.

McCrystal said: “The first 30k was hard and fast, the Ballymena girls really pushed it, and it was tough for me at the end, I can tell you.

“It was along the seafront that I attacked. There was an opportunity, and Aggie, my team mate, did a great job pulling Ellen McDermott back, then I just came off her wheel and put the head down and went for it.”

She added: “I didn’t know the course, so I didn’t really know what was ahead of me – I don’t know whether that’s a good thing or a bad thing. When we turned right after the seafront I think I had a minute and 48 seconds, but I didn’t realise the climb was as long as it was.

“I said, ‘if I can go over the top with still a good gap I have a chance’. I did, but it was straight into a headwind, so I didn’t get the benefit of the nice descent. They got me back to I think 22 seconds and I just kept at it and at it.”

McDermott, based in the UK with Team Boompods, got some compensation winning the sprint for second, over UCD Cycling Club’s Maura Claffey, with McCrystal’s Strata3-Velo Revolution team mates Grace Young and Agnieszka Wozniak finishing fourth and fifth.

Young remains atop the Women’s National Road Series General Classification, her team now topping the new Team Classification,  

The next round is the Mullingar GP on Sunday, July 14.

Results – Blair International Red Hand Trophy

  1.  Eve McCrystal – STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team

  2. Ellen McDermott – Team Boompods

  3. Maura Claffey – UCD Cycling Club

  4. Grace Young – STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team

  5. Agnieszka Wozniak – STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team

  6. Eileen Burns – Ballymena Road Cycling Club

  7. Katharine Smyth – Ballymena Road Cycling Club

  8. Sharon Bird – Velo Cafe Magasin

  9. Laura Campbell – Ballymena Road Cycling Club

  10. Emma Desmond – Lucan Cycling Road Club

  11. Gabriella Homer – Unattached Leinster

  12. Isobel Oakes – Smugglers CC

  13. Jennifer Bates – Team Bioracer-DHL-FR Services

  14. Ciara Kelly – TC Racing

  15. Julie Rea – Phoenix CC

  16. Beata Golczak – Unattached

  17. Megan Davenport – UCD Cycling Club

  18. Marcia Salvador – Bandon Cycling Club

  19. Catherine Mahoney – UCD Cycling Club

  20. Monica Freiband – Scott Orwell Wheelers

Editors notes:-

About the Cycling Ireland National Road Series

The Cycling Ireland National Road Series is a seven-race league incorporating the best domestic one-day road races. Points are accumulated down to 20th place in each Men’s and Women’s race, the winners walking away with €600. For 2019 there is an additional €300 Team Classification.