May Wins Back Jersey In Emyvale

Caoimhe May (Scott Orwell CC) took her second Intermediate League Win to regain her Women’s Commission Leaders Jersey at the Emyvale Grand Prix on Sunday (May 20).

Jennifer Bates (Gerard) started the day as League Leader , dropping to third overall.

The race was held on a tough rolling course , and on the day ,  the strong riders canceled each other out leading to a bunch sprint at the finish.

Young Sprinters Caoimhe May and Caoimhe O’Brien went clear in the final 200m to battle it out for the win.

Sofie Loscher (Sundrive Track Team) was close behind taking third , after being at the forefront of the race from early on . Sofie jumped to second place in the League Overall , and becomes the first rider to earn her upgrade to the W2 Ranks after amassing 15 points in the new Women’s Rankings .

The Emyvale Grand Prix was the the third round of the New Women’s Intermediate League  , with another big field of Women taking to the start line .

Naas CC will host the next round on June 16th with a Time Trial .

Rider Race Reports To Follow:

1st Caoimhe May: Scott / Orwell Wheelers
2nd Caoimhe O’Brien: Lakeside Wheelers
3rd Sofie Loscher Sundrive Track Team
4th Ellie Kelso: East Tyrone
5th Lisa Lamont: Mellow Velo
6th Laura Wylie: Maryland
1st Unplaced Junior Hannah Tilly: Arcane Women’s Team


Click Here For Race Photos: 

New Women’s Intermediate League

The Women’s Commission are delighted to announce a New Women’s Intermediate League for 2018.

The League is aimed at bridging the gap between our Introduction League Events (Corkagh Park , Munster Lge etc) and the National Road Series.

The Women’s Commission have identified Races that are suitable for riders new to Open Race Events.

The League will include a Leaders Jersey , and an Overall Prize List.

Have you tried racing and want more experience?

Designed for women looking for an introduction into road racing

Races between 50-70 km
Prizes for top 6 finishers

Prize List :

Intermediate League Riders can benefit from ‘on the day race prizes’ from the host events , a Women’s Commission League Leaders Jersey presented to each individual League Leader , Overall Winners Medals , and a Women’s Commission prize fund of €750

The Intermediate League is new to the 2018 Racing Calendar (Catering For W2 & W3 Riders Only) and is aimed at riders looking for a stepping stone between Women’s Beginner League Races , and the Women’s National Road Series .

Medals and prize money will be presented at the final event of the League.

  1. €150
  2. €130
  3. €110
  4. €100
  5. €90
  6. €70

Ist Unplaced Junior €50

1st Unplaced Under 16 Rider €50

  • In the event of two riders finishing with the same points total , the riders will be separated based on number of wins . If there is still a tie , riders will be separated on higher placings in most recent race.
  • A Riders Best 5 placings from 7 Events will count towards Overall League Position



Top 6 in each race get Intermediate League Points (6,5,4,3,2,1).

A rider’s best 5 races will count towards the Intermediate League Overall Points Total

The League is open to W2 & W3 Categorised riders only .

New Women’s Categories 2018

  • W1 = A1 and A2 riders / top 10 from 2017 National Championships / top 6 overall from 2017 National Series / W2 riders who have got enough grading points during 2018 to be upgraded.
  • W2 = A3 riders / W3 riders who have got enough grading points during 2018 to be upgraded.
  • W3 = A4 riders / Limited Competition / Under 16 Riders

*There will be exceptions (e.g. An A2 can be a W2 on request to Grading Officer)

Any riders who wish to be Upgraded / Downgraded can make a request by email to the Grading Officer at .

W1 riders cannot race in the Intermediate League (including riders upgraded to W1 mid-season).

Once a rider is upgraded to W1 they stop racing in the Intermediate League, but their Intermediate League points total still remains on the Intermediate League Table and they are eligible for an overall Intermediate League prize.


Intermediate League Race Schedule
•       1) April 22nd : Waller Cup, Bohermeen
•       2) April 29th : Deenside Cup, Castlecomer
•       3) May 20th : Emyvale GP *
•       4) June 16th : Naas Time Trial *
•       5) July 8th : North Tipp Wheelers GP
•       6) July 22nd : TBC
•       7) August 5th : TBC