Martyn Irvine To Coach Irish Team At Manchester Omnium

The Women’s Commission are delighted to announce that Martyn Irvine will work with the Irish Women’s Teams at the ACT Women’s International Omnium in January.

The Women’s Commission named a strong team for the event (Including Elite, Masters & Junior Riders), and will face stiff opposition from the local English Teams , along with Teams from Luxembourg & Scotland already confirmed .

Martyn Irvine is recognised as one of Irelands best ever riders , with a distinguished professional career on both Road & Track . The former World Cycling Champion retired as a Professional Cyclist in 2017 , and was immediately employed as a Director Sportive for the Aqua Blue Pro Team .

Although he is much in demand , Martyn has given a lot of time to Women’s Cycling in Ireland , speaking at Women’s Training Days on both Road & Track , and for his work with the Arcane Women’s Team (He co-founded in 2016).

(Martyn was a guest at the Women’s Commission Training Day hosted by Dungarvan CC recently).

The event on January 7th will see the return of the ACT Track League , with guest riders from Ireland and all of the UK  .

The Women’s racing on the night will follow an Omnium format , with overall prizes (Including one sponsored by the Women’s Commission).

The Manchester Velodrome (National Cycling Centre) was Britain’s first indoor Olympic cycling track, and since it opened in 1994, has achieved the status as the World’s finest and fastest track.

The Team will race under the banner of the ‘Women’s Commission Of Cycling Ireland’ wearing our colours in the event.

Cycling Ireland Women’s Commission Team:

  • Sofie Loscher – Sundrive Track Team
  • Gill Haverty – Arcane Women’s Team
  • Susie Mitchel – Sundrive Track Team
  • Lyndsey Bryce – Dublin Wheelers
  • Grace Irvine – Arcane Women’s Team
  • Claire Ní Reachtagain – North Tipperary Wheelers
  • Aisling Conlon – Sundrive Track Team
  • Ewa Kuras – Arcane Women’s Team
  • Agnieszka Samsel – Dublin Wheelers
  • Anne Coleman – Sundrive Track Team
  • Álmha Kissane (Junior) – Arcane Women’s Team
  • Keela MacHale (Junior) – Arcane Women’s Team
  • Hannah Tilly (Junior) – Arcane Women’s Team
  • Eva Brennan (Junior) – Deenside Wheelers
  • Team Manager: Róisín Kennedy – Arcane Womens Team
  • Asst Team Manager:  Brendan Whelan – Bicycle Design Centre
  • Team Coach : Martyn Irvine