Last XC NPS in Davagh: McManus wins

The 2018 XC MTB season will be remembered as a hot, dry and sunny one, with more women taking to the trails around the country.

In the last Cross Country National Points Series at Davagh Forest, Ciara McManus took the Senior 1 win from speedy Junior rider, and series leader Niamh McKiverigan.

Ciara McManus Photo credit: Gareth Gibbons Photography

Senior 2 had one of the biggest turnouts this season with 9 racers from all over Ireland. There was a great battle between Leah McCarthy and Trudy Brown with less than a minute separating both riders. Joanna Bula rounded up the podium with third place. 

Video from the Senior 2 race: Credit: Leah McCarthy

The Senior 3 race, geared at first time racers, had Ciara Nolan again taking first place, with Louise Friel in second. 

Junior riders

The future is bright with a heap of junior girl riders riding a shorter course. Darcey Harkness won the Under 16s, Hannah Mullin the Under 14s, Aine Doherty the Under 12s, Cara Sucking the Under 10s and Aofie Craig the Under 8s.  


Senior 1 podium: 1st Ciara McManus, 2nd Niamh McKiverigan. Photo credit: Gareth Gibbons Photography

Senior 2 podium: 1st Leah McCarthy, 2nd Trudy Brown, 3rd Joanna Bula Photo credit: Leah McCarthy

Senior 3 winners: 1st Ciara Nolan, 2nd Louise Friel

Full results available here 

Detailed race report by Martin Grimley here

Series results

This year has had a good turnout in the Senior 2 (13) and 3 (6) categories, with many of these riders looking to step up to Senior 1 next year. 

Senior 1 NPS Series winner: Niamh McKiverigan

Senior 2 NPS Series winner: Niamh McGreen

Senior 3 NPS Series winner: Ciara Nolan

Under 16 NPS Series winner: Darcey Harkness

Under 14 NPS Series winner: Hannah Mullin

Under 12 NPS Series winner: Aine Doherty

Under 10 NPS Series winner: Cara Suckling

Under 8 NPS Series winner: Aoife Craig

Full series results available here.