Serious Contenders Line Up For Intermediate League Trophy

The 2020 Intermediate League starts on Saturday (Aug 1st)  with The Danny O’Shea Open 10 Mile TT. The league has been reduced to three events this year due to Covid restrictions, and this will be the first chance for riders to take on an open race event since March. Time Trials usually only attract serious League contenders, and with all three events counting towards the overall title , the 2020 winner will most likely feature in Saturdays result. 

Women have taken up a significant portion of the entry list, and 16 of these are eligible for the Intermediate League (W2 & W3 Riders).

Many of the women already have two races under their belts with our Women’s Race Series at Corkagh Park, but for some this will be the first time that they have turned a pedal in anger for many months.

  1. Eva Brennan – Deenside Wheelers
  2. Caoimhe May – Quanta Scott Orwell Wheelers
  3. Amy Kinsella -TC Racing
  4. Fiona Kelly – Wicklow Velo
  5. Julieann Byrne – Lucan CRC
  6. Joanne White – Drogheda Wheelers
  7. Helen White – Stamullen RC
  8. Laura Mc Munn – UCD Cycling Club
  9. Elizabeth Kent – Arcane Women’s Team
  10. Gill Haverty – Arcane Women’s Team
  11. Roisin Kennedy – Arcane Women’s Team
  12. Grace Irvine – Arcane Women’s Team
  13. Catherine Mahoney – UCDCC
  14. Deborah Madden – Sundrive Track Team
  15. Emily Doyle – Naas CC
  16. Jenny Neenan – VIB Natural Greatness


The revised Women’s Intermediate League starts this Saturday (August 1st) with The Danny O’Shea Open 10 Mile TT .

The Intermediate League caters for W2/W3 Category Senior & Junior riders only .

Over 100 Women took part in last years Intermediate League.

The start is from Jack Whites Pub near Brittas Bay.

The course is run on well surfaced and open roads on a circuit heading north towards Wicklow (Beehive Roundabout) on the old N11.

Event Description:

  • 10 mile Time Trial race ,starting at Jack Whites, heading to the Beehive ,Wicklow and return to Jack Whites.
  • First rider away at 11am sharp.
  • All riders taking part must complete the Cycling Ireland guidance and questionnaire to make themselves aware of the risks of covid-19 within society and the consequences that may arise if they contract the illness.
  • No ‘on the day’ entries, all competitors must be pre-registered and pre-pay

Enter here:

Entries close on Friday 31st July.


About The Intermediatediate League:

Click Here For 2019 Final League Table:

The League is aimed at bridging the gap between our Introductory Racing Events and the National Road Series.
The Women’s Commission have identified Races that are suitable for riders new to Open Race Events.

The League will include a Leader’s Jersey and has an Overall Prize List.

The League Leader will wear the Women’s Commission’s Leaders Jersey. A Rider will be deducted one point per event for not wearing the leader’s jersey.

Designed for women looking for an introduction into road racing, Have you tried racing and want more experience?

The inaugural Intermediate leagues were a major success for Women’s Cycling In Ireland in 2018 and 2019 (We would like to thank all the host clubs for helping to promote Women’s Racing).

Intermediate League Riders may benefit from ‘on the day race prizes’ from the host events , a Women’s Commission League Leaders Jersey presented to each individual League Leader , Overall Winners Medals , and a Women’s Commission prize fund.

In the event of two riders finishing with the same points total , the riders will be separated based on number of wins . If there is still a tie , riders will be separated on higher placings in most recent race
The Intermediate League will consist of the following races:

1) Saturday 1st August – Danny O’Shea Memorial 10m TT (Sorrento CC)
2) Sunday 16th August – Limerick Racecourse (Greenmount CA)
3) Saturday 19th September – Mick Lawless Memorial (St. Tiernan’s CC)
All 3 races to count towards the League.

Podium 2019

Podium 2018

Revised Prize List:

  • If riders finish the league with equal points, the rider with the highest number of wins will be ranked higher.
  • If riders are still equal on this criteria, they will be ranked by their number of second places, and then by their third places.
  • If riders still cannot be separated, they will be ranked by the total number of league races they have completed.
  • Finally, they will be ranked by their finishing position in the final league race (Mick Lawless Memorial).

1. €90
2. €78
3. €66
4. €60
5. €54
6. €42
1st Junior €30

Total €420