Fortune favours the brave (and O’Halloran in Bunclody)

Michelle O'Halloran winning in Bunclody. Pic: Sean Rowe.
Michelle O’Halloran winning in Bunclody. Pic: Sean Rowe.

Michelle O’Halloran (Lakeside Wheelers) took the Eddie Tobin Memorial women’s race which was also the fifth round of the Joe Daly’s National League.

The first lap was a negative affair with all attempts to create a gap quickly shut down and it was on the second 26km lap that saw Orla Hendron (Orwell) attack early and decisively. She was soon joined by O’Halloran and the two worked well together to develop and hold a good gap.

With both Orwell and Lakeside fielding the largest teams in the Slaney race, with both having five riders in the field, there was little appetite among the rest of the field to get organised and give chase. A few attempts from individual riders to jump across were neutralised by the bunch.

At the front of affairs O’Halloran proved too strong for Hendron and put distance between herself and the Orwell rider who was picked up by the main field. The solo ride by O’Halloran is reflective of her ability to attack on her own and remain there, and today she was rewarded for her bravery.

O’Halloran kept a steady pace and finished with some three minutes to spare before the bunch fought it out over a very tough finish with a steep last 500m. Sarah Pratt (Bray) took second while Niamh Stephens (UCD) took third spot.

Grace Young was fourth and Roisin Kennedy fifth, Emma Walsh finished sixth and Eimear Reilly took seventh and Wendy Bates taking the final Joe Daly’s National League points on the day.

In the junior race, Eimear Harrison (Covey Wheelers) took time out of Irish college to race and it paid off as she took the Junior prize from Naoise Sheridan (Orwell).

We’ll bring you the updated National League table shortly.