Details announced of 2015 Women’s National League

The dates for the 2015 Joe Daly Cycles Women’s National League have just been released. The league will kick off and end in Munster for the first time since its creation in 2003. This season the series moves south as three of the seven rounds scheduled will take place in the province of National Champion Fiona Meade.

The Women’s Commission has also selected to end the league with a criterium for the first time in its history.

League manager Monica Marconi explains her decision:

“Given how popular the Corkagh Park series has proved to be and the fact that the race will be part of a weekend of racing in Clonmel, we hope to see a good turnout at this race. ”

Last season was a great success for the league with 75 women signed up for the series. With the current interest in women’s racing, the numbers of licences constantly increasing, the prospect of an even more successful league looks very likely.

The League will once again be sponsored by Joe Daly Cycles. The league owes its growth and success to the continued backing of
the Dundrum based store.

national league poster

About the National League:

The National League was established in 2002 with the aim of attracting more riders to open racing. Since then it has developed into a highly competitive league, attracting the best teams and riders in the country. Races usually range from 50 to 70km in length; circuits are usually rolling but not overly hilly. While the races will attract high calibre of riders the National League is the perfect step up for riders who have tried their first local club race or the Corkagh Park Crits and would like to try open racing.