Big Names Lined Up For Des Hanlon Classic

Author: Jessica Lamb (March 26, 2019)

Cycling Ireland’s premier domestic road racing league, the National Road Series, begins on Sunday in Carlow with the historic Des Hanlon Memorial Classic.

In excess of 30 riders are bound for the 67km Women’s National Road Series leg hosted and promoted by the Cycling Ireland Road Commission .

The Women’s National Road Series event could be the biggest ever Women’s ‘Des Hanlon Classic’ field,  First run in 1981 to commemorate the life of Carlow teenager Des Hanlon, who had been killed the previous Christmas Eve when hit by a car as he cycled on local roads, the Des Hanlon Memorial Classic has been won by some of Ireland’s most decorated cyclists.

The Des Hanlon Classic is hosted by Carlow Road Cycling Club and will be covered live on Twitter via @CINatRoadSeries this Sunday from early.


Editors notes:

The Cycling Ireland National Road Series is a seven-race league incorporating Ireland’s best one-day road races. Points are accumulated down to 20th place in each Women’s race, the winners walking away with €600. For 2019 there is an additional €300 Team Classification.

In 2018 Aine Donegan (Scott-Orwell Wheelers) finished top of the Women’s National Road Series General Classifications.


Women’s Des Hanlon Classic Winners

2018 Katharine Smyth (Ballymena Road Club)

2017 Eve McCrystal (Garda CC)

2016 Claire McIlwaine (Phoenix CC)

2015 Ciara Doogan (

2014 Fran Meehan (AquaBlue)