Race & Rider Preview For Orwell CycloCross

The Startlist, Gridding and a Preview, for the Scott Orwell Wheelers CycloCross Race 2018 by Luke Potter


09:00 Sign-on
10:00 Course Practice
11:00 Women’s Race (Elite, Vets, U23, Junior and Youth)
11:50 Women's Race Podiums

Women’s Race – Sponsored by Joe Daly Cycles


Overall: 1st, 2nd, 3rd
Sub-Categories, for unplaced: 1st U23, 1st Junior, 1st U16, 1st U14 and 1st Masters Woman (40+)

Preview: How do you Solve a Problem like Klaudia?

Klauida Bajolek will be hard to beat. The Scott/Eurocycles.com rider has been super strong all season, with winning Bike7 SuperCross Cup and Ulster CycloCross Series outings. It might be a case that only a mechanical can prevent her. She’ll have to decide how hard to go from the gun, in case she needs something in reserve to recover from a setback.

Niamh Stephens had winning returns in Navan and Oldcastle this season. The TC Racing rider should be solidly in contention for a podium.

Orwell’s Aishling O’Connor and Aideen Keenan, shared the podium in Oldcastle, with O’Connor getting the higher placing.

Scott Orwell’s Roches and Reillys will be battling for the three Youth and Junior podiums on offer. They won’t have it all their own way though.

In the Masters category, Mary Dawson, of Bray Wheelers, will be favourite. She’ll be facing competition from EPIC MTBs, Tara Kerins. Mary will be hoping that her front row grid spot will give her the opportunities to choose a better line through the first two corners.

Gridded Riders are Numbers 1-10. 

Chip Number First Name Last Name Club Name Sub-Category
1 Klaudia Bajolek Scott/Eurocycles.com Women U23
2 Niamh Stephens TC Racing Women Senior
3 Mary Dawson Bray Wheelers Women Masters
4 Stephanie Roche Scott Orwell Wheelers Women Junior
5 Aishling Oconnor Scott Orwell Wheelers Women Senior
6 Aideen Keenan Dublin Wheelers CC Women Senior
7 Annie Roche Scott Orwell Wheelers Women U16
8 Tara Kerins EPIC MTB Women Masters
9 Aileen Flynn Velo Revolution Women Senior
10 Orla Conroy Bray Wheelers Women U23


Ungridded Riders, after Top 10, in Alphabetical Order

Chip Number First Name Last Name Club Name Sub-Category
11 Eve Furlong Racing795 Women U16
12 Beata Golczak Unattached Women Senior
13 Fiona Gyo TC Racing Women Senior
14 Orla Hendron Scott Orwell Wheelers Women Masters
15 Louise Keane Scott Orwell Wheelers Women Masters
16 Caroline Martinez Inspired Cycling Women Masters
17 Caroline Murphy EPIC MTB Women Senior
18 Lucy O’Donnell O’leary Stone Kanturk Women Junior
19 Aine Reilly Scott Orwell Wheelers Women U14
20 Katie Reilly Scott Orwell Wheelers Women U14
21 Zoe Shakespeare Navan Road Club Women U14
22 Emma Smith Navan Road Club Women U16


Best of luck to all on the day.